Pennsylvania 1999 State Quarter: History, Culture, and Geography

The Pennsylvania State Quarter captures the essence of the Keystone State in a blend of symbols. At its center stands the Commonwealth statue, an iconic representation of Pennsylvania’s rich history and culture. Since 1905, this statue has adorned the state’s capitol dome, with its right arm extended in mercy and its left arm holding a ribbon mace symbolizing justice.

Accompanying the statue is the keystone, a symbol deeply rooted in Pennsylvania’s identity. During the Civil War, Pennsylvania earned its nickname as the “Keystone State” due to its strategic location in defending against Southern attacks. The outline of the state of Pennsylvania is a simple but effective way to represent the state’s geography.

These symbols come together on the state quarter, creating a unique and memorable coin that celebrates Pennsylvania’s history, culture, and geography. It serves as a powerful reminder of the ideals of virtue, liberty, and independence, reflecting Pennsylvania’s significant role in the American Revolution.

The Pennsylvania State Quarter is more than just currency; it encapsulates the state’s enduring legacy and its pivotal contribution to the formation of the United States.

1. Delaware

1. Delaware

NEXT Quarter
3. New Jersey

3. New Jersey 1999 Quarter

Quarter Details




50 State Quarters Program

ARTIST (Tails Side)

John Mercanti


March 8, 1999


The Keystone State

All five 1999 State Quarters in position in a Coin Carousel

Position 1

1. Delaware 1999 State Quarter in Coin Carousel
1. Delaware

Position 2

2. Pennsylvania 1999 State Quarter in Coin Carousel
2. Pennsylvania

Position 3

3. New Jersey 1999 State Quarter in Coin Carousel
3. New Jersey

Position 4

4. Georgia 1999 State Quarter in Coin Carousel
4. Georgia

Position 5

5. Connecticut 1999 State Quarter in Coin Carousel
5. Connecticut

The 50 State Quarters Program was launched in 1999 by the U.S. Mint and was a 10-year initiative that honored each of the 50 states. The U.S. Mint issued five new quarters each year in the order that the states ratified the Constitution or were admitted into the Union.

The 1999 State Quarters were the first five coins of the 50 State Quarters Program. The program lasted for 10 years (1999-2008) and was extended to include six more territories in 2009. The coins have a common obverse design of George Washington and a state-specific reverse design. The coins were produced for about 10 weeks each and will never be produced again.

Love numbers? Check out the 1999 State Quarters coin production figures

1999 State Quarter Coin Carousel

Buy a 1999 Coin Carousel with Quarters

Includes all (5) 1999 State Quarters and (1) Coin Carousel

Learn more about the Coin Carousel

A new way of collecting and displaying Quarters

All 50 State Quarter Coin Carousels

Check out all the 50 State Quarters in Coin Carousels

Check out ALL our Products for Sale

We sell more than just Coin Carousels, T-shirt anyone?

Join us in Albuquerque, New Mexico

We offer Coin Carousel Experiences in ABQ
Scroll to Top